This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience.

Deutsch
English
 

About Schultheiss Quartier

History

Nowadays it has unfortunately become common practice to brew beer at large and often unsightly industrial facilities. In the past, however, this was not the case. Breweries used to be architecturally striking buildings built mostly from yellow or red brick and added character to the inner city. The well-maintained building complex serves as documentation of the developments in the brewing trade in Berlin and is a testament to Berlin’s growth during the 19th century.

1826-27 Construction of the first brewery building


1872-74 Construction of the brewhouse


1898-99 new malthouse and warehouse


1904 Extension by dishwashing & Pich hall


1980 Closure


1995 Protection of historical brick ensemble


2015 Start of construction of the new Schultheiss Quarter


2018 Opening

Brick beauty with style

The new façade is based on the existing one with its yellow Markish bricks, oriels, turrets and battlements. Whether it is the former stables, chimney or brewhouse - the design of the new building seeks a direct dialogue with the fascinating architecture of industrialisation. The reference to the building style before the Gründerzeit extends from the outer façade to the interior of the Schultheiss Quarter and is thus also reflected there by the numerous columns and water-struck bricks used.

The Remisengasse, which opens up towards Perleberger Straße, not only opens up an interesting line of sight and a further entrance to the Schultheiss Quarter, but also fascinates above all by the listed architecture of the Gründerzeit.

Turmstraße 25, 10559 Berlin / Germany +49 30 403646400[email protected]

A Project by